TunnelQuiz vs CodeSignal: different tools for different tests.
CodeSignal is a skills platform for technical hiring. Candidates write and run code in a real IDE, take agentic assessments with tools like Claude and Cursor, and sit AI or live interviews, with proctoring and ID checks on every plan. TunnelQuiz is a narrower tool: proctored multiple-choice and written tests for any role, priced per candidate, with screen and browser checks from the free plan up. If you hire engineers at volume, CodeSignal is the stronger product. If most of your screening is aptitude, language and domain knowledge, TunnelQuiz will cost you far less per candidate.
CodeSignal's strength is evaluating engineers: code that runs in a built-in IDE, 2,000 library questions on its entry plan, agentic assessments with Claude, Cursor and Codex, and live technical interviews. TunnelQuiz is built around multiple-choice and written tests. It does take coding questions in 19 languages on Pro, but an AI grades them and the code is never run. If your process is code-heavy, CodeSignal is purpose-built for it.
02
Far more credits per plan at the entry tier
CodeSignal's Build plan is US$79 a month billed annually for 60 credits a year, or $99 a month for 5 credits a month, and each extra credit costs $20. TunnelQuiz's Essential plan includes 150 credits every month. One credit covers one candidate sitting, whatever proctoring is on, and unproctored tests on paid plans use no credits at all.
03
A free plan to try it on real candidates
CodeSignal's pricing page lists no free plan for hiring; its free tier is for individual learners. TunnelQuiz has a free plan with 50 credits every month, with whole-screen capture and the tab, fullscreen and copy-paste checks every plan includes, so you can run a real round before paying.
TunnelQuiz vs CodeSignal: feature by feature
Every row below is a capability one or both platforms publish. A dash means we found no public statement that the platform offers it.
Feature
TunnelQuiz
CodeSignal
Questions and tests8
Multiple-choice questions
Yes. Single and multiple answer, with negative marking
Yes. Quiz questions
Written answers
Yes. Marked by you, or AI-drafted on Pro
Yes. Writing questions
Coding questions
Partly, with conditions. 19 languages, AI-graded on Pro; code is not run
Yes. Runs code in a built-in IDE
Assessments that use AI tools
No.
Yes. Agentic assessments with Claude, Cursor and Codex
Test library
No.
Yes. 2,000 questions on Build; full certified library on Pro
Write your own questions
Yes. Every plan; CSV import up to 500 rows
Partly, with conditions. Pro plan, or with the Authoring with Cosmo add-on
AI interviews
Yes. Text chat interviews, Pro plan
Yes. AI Interviewers on every plan; more roles on Grow and Pro
Live technical interviews
No.
Yes. Every plan
Proctoring and test integrity9
Captures of the candidate's screen
Yes. Whole screen every 60 seconds, every plan
Yes. Screen, video and audio recorded for the whole session
Webcam monitoring
Yes. Snapshots every 60 seconds, Essential and up; multiple-face flag on Pro
Yes. Continuous video recording
Identity check before the test
Partly, with conditions. Email one-time code on every plan; SMS code and check-in photo from Essential; no ID document check
Yes. Government photo ID matched to the person on camera, every plan
Yes. Known AI extensions flagged, Essential and up
Not stated.
Second display detection
Yes. In Chrome and Edge, every plan
Not stated.
Who reviews the flags
Automatic flags and a risk score; you decide, with optional auto-terminate from Essential
AI analysis, then CodeSignal's human reviewers validate flagged activity
Live view of candidates mid-test
Yes. Live monitoring from Essential, Live Follow on Pro
Partly, with conditions. Live interview proctoring on Pro
Team and integrations5
ATS integrations
No.
Yes. Gem and Ashby on Grow; Workday, iCIMS, Oracle, Greenhouse and Lever on Pro
API
No. Webhooks on Business
Yes. Basic API on Grow, advanced API and webhooks on Pro
Single sign-on
Partly, with conditions. Google and Microsoft sign-in
Yes. SSO and SCIM on Pro
Your own branding
Yes. Pro plan
Yes. Every plan
Shareable, revocable report links
Yes. Essential and up
Not stated.
Pricing and access5
Free plan for hiring
Yes. 50 credits every month
No. None listed; CodeSignal Learn is free for individuals
Entry price
$34/mo billed yearly, 150 credits a month
Build: $79/mo billed annually for 60 credits a year, or $99/mo for 5 credits a month
Extra candidates
Top-ups at $0.38 a credit or less
$20 per on-demand credit
Currency
USD, no tax added
USD
Pricing model
Flat plans: Free $0, Essential $34/mo and Pro $87/mo, both billed yearly (12% off monthly), Business quoted - 50/150/250 credits a month; unproctored tests free on paid plans, AI generation, grading and chat interviews metered separately in AI credits; in India, ₹1,319 and ₹3,519 plus GST
Credit plans: a credit is used when a candidate starts an assessment or interview; Grow from $479/mo billed annually, Pro quoted
A proctored campus drive of 400 candidates uses 400 TunnelQuiz credits, about three months of the Essential plan's allowance, or a top-up. On CodeSignal's Build plan the same drive would use the year's 60 credits and 340 on-demand credits at $20 each, on its published pricing.
A proctored drive of 400 candidates
CodeSignal
60 credits, then 340 at $20
The Build plan's credits for the year, then on-demand credits
TunnelQuiz
400 credits
About three months of Essential's allowance, or a top-up
Reason 02
Built for roles that aren't engineering
A lot of screening is aptitude, language, domain knowledge and judgment, asked as MCQs and short written answers. That is what TunnelQuiz is built around, with negative marking, per-question timers and shuffled question pools. CodeSignal covers business roles too, but its go-to-market and HR assessments start on Grow.
Tests for roles outside engineering
CodeSignal
From the Grow plan
Where its go-to-market and HR assessments start
TunnelQuiz
MCQs and written answers
Negative marking, per-question timers and shuffled question pools
Reason 03
Watch a test while it runs
CodeSignal records the session and has it reviewed by AI and then its own reviewers. TunnelQuiz's live monitoring, from Essential, lists every candidate with their progress and flags while the test is still running, and you review the screen captures and flags yourself.
Who reviews the session
CodeSignal
AI, then its reviewers
The session is recorded and reviewed for you
TunnelQuiz
You, while it runs
Live monitoring from Essential; the captures and flags are yours to review
Frequently asked questions
Is TunnelQuiz a good alternative to CodeSignal?
It depends on what you are testing. For software engineering hiring, CodeSignal is the better tool: it runs code, offers agentic and live technical interviews, and ships a large certified question library. TunnelQuiz is built for proctored MCQ and written tests for any role. If most of your candidates are not developers, it is simpler and far cheaper per candidate.
How much does CodeSignal cost?
As of October 2026, CodeSignal's hiring plans are Build at $79 a month billed annually (60 credits a year) or $99 a month billed monthly (5 credits a month), Grow at $479 a month billed annually (420 credits a year) or $599 monthly (35 a month), and Pro at a custom price. A credit is used when a candidate starts an assessment, AI interview or live interview, and extra credits cost $20 each. Prices are in US dollars; check CodeSignal's pricing page for current figures.
How much does TunnelQuiz cost?
As of October 2026, TunnelQuiz has four plans: Free ($0, 50 credits a month that lapse at month end), Essential ($34 a month billed yearly, 150 credits a month, 5 seats), Pro ($87 a month billed yearly, 250 credits and 10 AI credits a month, 20 seats) and Business (quoted). Yearly billing is 12% off the monthly rate, and monthly billing is also available. Prices are in US dollars with no tax added. In India the same plans are ₹1,319 and ₹3,519 a month billed yearly, plus 18% GST. One credit is one candidate sitting, whatever proctoring is on. Unproctored tests are free on paid plans, paid credits roll over while you stay subscribed, and top-ups cost $0.38 a credit or less.
Does CodeSignal offer proctoring?
Yes, on every plan. Its AI proctoring records the candidate's video, audio and screen for the whole session, and candidates show a government-issued photo ID that is matched to the person on camera. Flagged activity is validated by human reviewers. CodeSignal's candidate help article says this proctoring data is reviewed by CodeSignal only, deleted within 15 days and not shared with the company that requested the report. TunnelQuiz works the other way around: you see the screen captures, snapshots and flags yourself, but there is no ID document check.
Does TunnelQuiz support coding questions?
Yes, on the Pro plan, in 19 languages. An AI grades the answer against your question; the code is not compiled or run, and there is no IDE or project-style task. For deep technical assessment, CodeSignal is the purpose-built option. A sensible split is TunnelQuiz for aptitude and fundamentals, then a coding platform for the shortlist.
Which platform integrates with an ATS?
CodeSignal, from its Grow plan (Gem and Ashby) and on Pro (Workday, iCIMS, Oracle, Greenhouse, Lever and others). TunnelQuiz has no ATS integrations or public API; webhooks are available on its Business plan.
Is TunnelQuiz cheaper than CodeSignal?
As of October 2026, and per candidate, by a long way. TunnelQuiz's Essential plan is $34 a month billed yearly for 150 credits a month, while CodeSignal's Build plan is US$79 a month billed annually for 60 credits a year. It is not a like-for-like comparison for engineering hiring, though, since CodeSignal runs code, offers agentic assessments and live technical interviews, and TunnelQuiz does not.
Proctored tests for any role, with published prices.
Start on the free plan with 50 credits every month. Screen captures on every plan, webcam snapshots and live monitoring from Essential.